Candy Cane Nutella Chocolate Chip Cookies

PC090220I was eating spoonfuls of nutella last night when I felt an urge to bake cookies with this scrumptious spread.  I was introduced to this chocolate hazelnut cream on my first trip to Italy, and have never looked back.   Nutella has been a big part of my late night snack routine lately and I wanted to add it to my favorite dessert — cookies.  I came across this recipe and I tweaked it just a bit and I thought it was a great way to spread the nutella love and add some peppermint to make them a last minute christmas dessert.  I also added a secret ingredient that might be useful for those who want long-lasting soft cookies.  Enjoy and Merry Christmas for those who celebrate!PC090199PC090205PC090207
1 cup butter or margarine, softened to room temperature
3/4 cup sugar
3/4 cup brown sugar, packed
2 large eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla
1 package (3.5 oz) of instant vanilla pudding
2 1/4 cups sifted flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips (60%)
1/2 cup finely chopped candy cane

1.  Preheat oven to 350º F.
2.  In a medium-size bowl add flour, sift baking soda and salt.  Set aside.
3. In another medium-size bowl combine white and brown sugar.  Add vanilla essence, vanilla instant pudding, and also add nutella and mix.
4.  In a mixer add butter and beat on low speed until it becomes really creamy.
5.  Add sugar into butter so it is mixed well on medium speed.
6.  Add eggs.
7.  Add dry ingredient in two batches.  Make sure to scrape the flour off the sides.
8.  Add candy cane and chocolate chips and pulse about 10 times.
9.  Refrigerate for 30 minutes.
10.  Bake for 9-11 minutes.

One thought on “Candy Cane Nutella Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

