Bobotie-The Only South African Dish I Know


If you haven’t heard the news already, I left my lovely cooking in crime, Anne, in Boston, and took a whirlwind trip to the country of Lions, Tigers, and Bears, for some winter delight.  I promised in my previous post that I would share with you a traditional South African dish.  The Real Saffer, whose name is really Mr. Harry, took me to hot spots in town but when it came to “real” South African food, he was unsure of what this could be.  Then we came across this stitched canvas at the District Six Museum and I snapped away the recipe so I could remake this for you all when I got home:

Yup, I am so thoughtful.

Beautiful stitch but take a real close look.  10 ML of curry? Can ML=grams? Do we even have a scale for this?  After a moment of panic with the thought that I wouldn’t be able to share with you my Bobotie gem, I found my scale under a pile of dust and decided to tweak the recipe just a tiny bit for some convenience; if you can cook in ML, then go for it.

1.  Preheat the oven to 325ºF.
2.  Soak the bread in water and then squeeze and dry.  It will need to be crumbled before mixing it with the meat later.
3.  Heat oil in the saucepan and fry the onion and garlic until translucent.  Add a pinch of salt, 1/2 Tbs curry powder, 1/2 tsp turmeric and simmer for 5 minutes.  Turn off heat and set aside.
4.  In a different bowl, mix meat, 1 egg (missing from the ingredients list! I hope you have some in the kitchen), 1/2 lemon juice, chopped up apricots, 2 Tbs chutney, cinnamon sticks, and crumbled bread.
5.  Add onion mixture to the meat mixture.
6.  Grease oven-proof dish and add everything in.
7.  The baking time will be different depending on how deep your dish is.  I baked mine for 45 minutes.  You could also check with a knife to see if the meat is almost done.
8.  Mix 1 egg, 1/4 cup milk ,and salt for the topping.
9. Pour #9 mixture onto the meat, and increase the oven temperature to 375°F for 15 minutes, or until the egg mixture looks cooked.

A popular alternative for the beef would be lamb, and you can also add the spices to your liking.  It’s a flavorful dish with so many spices dancing around with the meat, it reminded me a bit of Thanksgiving and no one refuses a Thanksgiving dinner.  If you are into Indian Food, meatloaf, and scrambled eggs, then you will find this plate to be delicious.  Also, Bobotie is recommended for carnivores. Only.

Since  many of you requested to see more photo, I’ve posted a bunch in no specific order.
Enjoy!

 View of Chapman’s Peak from the opposite side.

The Oprah magazine is everywhere!  She opened a school in SA several years back so I guess she is under the starlight.
FYI this chocolate chip hazelnut cookie looks dry, but it was actually chewy and delicious-just the way I like it.

Bo-kaap is known as the Malay Quarter and it highlights the cultural contribution made by early Muslim settlers.  The houses are painted in vibrant colors similar to houses in some countries in South America.
I thought it looked like Easter Town if such a place existed.

I love purple!
Yeah, don’t want to be a Debbie Downer on this blog but it is a reality South Africans have to face and I think it’s important to share.  You will come across Townships when you visit SA, and you can even go on Township Tours, but I thought this was a bit exploitive.  But, SA is moving forwards and I read an informative article in the BBC about their current situation and there is hope!
The Protea is the national flower of South Africa.
Divine.

Another shot of Kirstenbosch National Botanical Garden.

It was nice knowing you Mr. Harry!

And this is how windy it really was.
Inside Lazy Lizard at Prince Albert-the Karoo.  The owner of this restaurant was a well traveled lady who had spent the past several years in Buenos Aires. So kind and would go back in a heart beat.  Also, of course there is zebra print to be found in the restaurant.
This is Africa!
Beautiful hand-crafted tea pots at the Old Biscuit Mill.
I wish I could have bought one for the next tea party.
This is the trailer at Warmwaterberg Spa.
Ha..Ha..Ha..hahaha.
You could also stay in a lodge but that would take the fun out of the trip.
Scenic drive to Cape of Good Hope.
That’s all the photos I got for you!
Until next time,
Cheers!

Bit dramatic?

South African Band.  In their music video they drive through the Garden Route, which is what we did.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

6 thoughts on “Bobotie-The Only South African Dish I Know

Leave a Reply

